Polish moving to UK

Hello everyone
I am a doctor from Poland currently undergoing an internship. I plan to move to the UK. Needless to say, I am overwhelmed with the whole process. I went through the information given by the authors of the blog and people on the forum. It cleared some areas for which I am truly grateful :slight_smile:
Some topics remain unclear though. I understand that in my situation I should start with registration in GMC. What about Foundation Programme? Is it possible to do a 2-year programme or do I have to start F2-stand alone? If I may be honest I would feel much more confident in terms of performing my practice if I would be able to undergo 2 years of training but is it possible if I will finish my internship here in Poland?

2 Likes

Hi @Marta_Wadolowska! :hugs:

After finishing internship in your country you’ll be eligible for GMC full registration.
Unfortunately, you won’t be able to apply for the 2year programme (UKFP) as you have already finished an acceptable pattern of internship, but you can apply for FY2 Standalone. You can find more information about the programme here.

Alternatively, you can apply for non training jobs after receiving full registration, at junior level. Read more about your journey here.

Hope it was helpful. Have a wonderful day!:hugs:

Thank you so much for the reply. Could you also shed some light on when the recruitment process for Standalone usually starts and what is the deadline for submitting my IELTS score to start it (the programme) next year? I know that I should start the whole process with registration in GMC but I guess simultaneously I should also apply for Foundation Programme? Could you please confirm or deny it? It also seems that if a candidate holds relevant European qualifications, PLAB test seems not to be compulsory, right?

Hi again @Marta_Wadolowska! :hugs:

To begin with, no, as a EU graduate you don’t need to take PLAB.