Specialty training for Brazilian students

Hi there!

So, I am a final year medical student from Brazil and I wonder if it is possible to enter specialty training straight away after getting my GMC registration or if it would me necessary to enroll on the UKFP or a non-training job.

Here in Brazil, medical school lasts 6 years. The first 4 are dedicated to studying basic subjects (anatomy, physiology, pathology, etc) but also some clinical training, specially in primary health care facilities and outpatient clinics (but not limited to those). Then, the last 2 years are what we call “Internato” (which could translate to internship, in English) This “Internato” is the moment in which you do full clinical training in a variety of specialties, you are part of the medical team. However, you are not a doctor yet, you are not yet registered on the CFM (which is basically Brazil’s GMC) Only after you finish these last 2 years (and, therefore, the 6 years of medical school), you will become a fully independent doctor allowed to practise.

So, some doubts arise from all this: would it be possible for me, after getting full registration from the GMC, to enter specialty training in the UK? Would I even be able to get full registration in the first place? Would it be necessary to do the UKFP? If so, both FY1 and FY2 or FY2 standalone?

I apologize if this was a bit confusing, but feel free to ask me any complementing information. I am trying to clarify all these questions in order to come up with a clear plan for my pathway towards becoming a doctor in the UK.

Thank you all in advance!

1 Like

Hello Gabriel!

I am in the same boat, I had to go through a two-year internship program without being registered as a doctor with license to practice. This is what I have learned so far…