Visa for unemployed fresh graduate

Hello,
I graduated in the 29th of May 2021 and I have my PLAB1 in august 2022. I did a clinical attachement for 4 months in a private pediatrics clinic in my city that finished in 2021. Since I have studied medicine in French and have a bad memory in general, I decided to dedicate all upcoming months to PLAB1 preparation = I don’t have a job. I do a few shifts in private emergencies here & there, but nothing official. And I’m trying to get involved in research with my thesis mentor, but she’s really slow & busy, so technically we haven’t published anything yet. Besides that, I have traveled many times to Europe in the past few years, my parents were always my sponsors. I also traveled to Europe after my graduation & respected my travel duration as always.
I’m taking my PLAB1 in the UK since that’s the closest country to me besides Spain. (I need visa for both, so I picked up UK since I can also use my visa for PLAB2 hopefully.)
I see many people getting their visa rejected, and I worry it’s gonna be my case too, since I don’t have an official job & have no property on my name.
What are my chances? And what should I do? Thanks a lot.

1 Like

Visa is really a headache and a half. :cry:

When I was planning my PLAB 2 visa I was in a very similar situation. No job, no money of my own - as I just finished my internship.

The way I planned it.

1. Making sure you have financial sponsor who is personally related to you, with sound explanation of their regular income and a good portion of liquid assets.
  2. Explain your own financial situation well. Even if you make zero money, explicitly state that and explain that is why you have a sponsor to support this visit.
  3. Emphasize on explaining how it is just a few days thing. You should show your visit as short as 15-20 days (maybe a month to the maximum) because PLAB 1 is just a one day exam. Explain each day itenerary with dates. Include possibility of COVID quarantine and all.