Will GMC accept my internship if I couldn't do it in China?

I’m a final year MBBS student, from China (originally from Pakistan). I can’t go back to China for my 6th year of internship due to COVID and flight restrictions.

The plan is to prepare and pass PLAB 1 & 2 during 6th year, get degree from university (in China) and then do one year internship in Pakistan (after graduation) which will make me eligible for full license of Pakistan (before this i will pass both licensing exams of Pakistan).

I’m worried if GMC will not accept my internship or ask me to give reason why I couldn’t do internship. Even if I say I couldn’t go back to China due to COVID, they might ask me then how I graduated because according to rules of China, pre-graduation internship is compulsory. I can’t even do internship in Pakistan because according to rules of Pakistan, I must have graduated (have degree) to do internship here.

The question is, well I be eligible if I do it the way as I mentioned in my plan above.

2 Likes

Hey! I am final year student from China and just like you i too wont be able to do my internship in China .
So i think its best if you contact your university right now and confirm whether you can complete internship in Pakistan and get graduated. Because i contacted my university and they had no issues with mw completing internship in a different country.

1 Like

Rohan, thanks for replying.
The university allowed me and my senior batches to do internship in Pakistan but as I mentioned earlier According to the rules of Pakistan, I must have graduated to start my internship. If I start volunteering internship; the hospital and medical council of Pakistan won’t issue any certificate or proof so it’s gonna be a kind of gap year.

1 Like